WELCOME TO THE FORUM! PLEASE DON'T FORGET TO CHECK OUR FAQ.

Music: Who's Your Favorite (And Most Deserving) Unsigned Musical Act?

edited April 2009 in Music & Games
I've speculated about this a lot over the years, about how a seemingly crappy band gets signed, makes millions and then goes down in history as a "great musical act." This is especially upsetting since there are so many acts that don't get signed (often because they don't look good on camera) that are so much better than anything on commercial radio. or MTV (Does MTV still play music videos?) As a band manager I see this all the time, and frankly, it pisses me off. Ray Charles, Stevie Wonder, Etta James, Joe Cocker, Bob Dylan, Leonard Coen etc., would not have made it today because they don't have "the look." My personal favorite, right now is http://www.myspace.com/olivestreetrecords So how about it, who do you think needs to make it, and why?

Comments

• I don't think the Reverend Norb ,formerly of Boris The Sprinkler, has a a label these days unless it's one of his own? (he's done it on his own before.) The Rev is great. The last I heard of him he was doing radio.
  •  

Danielle Howle

Americana / Alternative / Jazz

http://www.myspace.com/daniellehowle
    I think she has a record contract however isnt well known.  She had a band theTantrums
  • I also like some of the artists coming up in Louisville, KY. I think the scene is about to explode there, with My Morning Jacket and all.
    I really like Daniell Howle's stuff, very cool. Reverend Norb? Any link to his stuff?
  • edited April 2009
    The Rev.? I'd do a search for his old band,Boris The Sprinkler. They did a couple of things on the Go-Kart label along with some stuff Norb released with them on his own.